Diets, decisions and dropping-out.

Image

 

It’s been a while since I posted on here, I’ve been a bit busy with this and that. So here’s an update of what I’ve been up to recently.

 

1 – The diet went a bit downhill. Note the word: went. I started to feel a bit ill and naff so I started binging on things that I definitely shouldn’t have. Hence, I put on all the weight I lost. I’m dissapointed at myself, but now I’m home I definitely have more of a motive to lose weight, and it’s going to be a hell of a lot easier now I’m not going to be drinking so much. Alcohol is the enemy of all diets. At the moment I’m super motivated and I’ve been trying really hard! I went on a run the other day, my shins are still a bit dodgy, but I’m gonna start off slow and build up. I was a bit gutted that I didn’t lose any weight this week seeing as I stuck to my diet perfectly, but I’m just gonna keep going and hopefully lose a fair bit next week! So I’m officially back on track!

 

2 – I dropped out of university. Yes, I’m officially a drop-out! I couldn’t be happier. In my eyes, university was never the be-all and end-all of everything – I didn’t really even want to go in the first place after struggling big-time in college. But I went whilst the fees are lower, knowing that I always had the chance to drop out if I wanted to. It was a big decision for me, and personally, I never take decisions lightly. I think too much and use my head. With a lot of things in life that’s good, but this time I knew (and had been told by people close to me) that I needed to follow my heart. So that’s what I did.

The course was alright, yeah. I liked the lecturers and I got on well with the people on it. But when I really thought about it, I didn’t want to spend the next two years writing essays and sitting exams, revising and working hard. I felt like I just needed to get out into the world and do stuff. I struggled to be the academic type that a lot of my friends are.

At the end of the day, I realised I wasn’t happy there. I was becoming run-down and ill, I was unhappy 80% of the time and I just generally missed home. I missed the beach, the forest, walking my dog and seeing my family and closest friends. I had none of that at uni. Now I’m back I can do all of these things, and I just feel so much better and happier. I know that now I can do whatever I want, a degree isn’t somehting I feel I need to live my life to the fullest.

I know that a lot of people might slate me for my decision, and think I am throwing away a great opportunity, but for me, my happiness and well-being comes first, and I definitely feel better in myself when I’m at home.

University was fun for a while, but it just wasn’t for me. It would have been a lot easier for me to just stay on, but after visiting friends and family I knew that it wasn’t the path I wanted to take.

5 comments on “Diets, decisions and dropping-out.

  1. Amy says:

    Never apologise for following your heart! 🙂 it’s great you made the right decision for you an managed to push aside other people’s ideas and judgements, well done you! X

  2. crazybunny66 says:

    It takes guts to do what you did, pull the plug and start something new, as long as you are happy with your decision, go for it and ignore everyone else!!

  3. Hi, I’ve nominated you for the Versatile Blogger Award. Please check in at my website for details. Have a great day! http://www.susartandfood.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

