5 things you need to stop tweeting about:

Ah, Twitter. Full of interesting news, funny jokes and crazy facts,  all summed up in 140 characters or less. However, there are also those mindless idiots who feel it is necessary to share the most pointless shit that I really don’t care about. I’m not saying I’m totally innocent, but some people just don’t know where to draw the line. Here’s a list of 5 things that I really hate appearing on my home page:

  1. ‘Happy birthday (insert teenage celebrity name here)’: I do not care if it’s Taylor Swift’s 21st birthday or if Justin Bieber has just reached adulthood. I don’t want it on my list of trends replacing something more important. Also, don’t go on about how proud you are that they have reached that age – you’re 13 years old, not their mother.
  2. ‘I’m so miserable, when will I ever find a girlfriend, blablabla hate my life’: I don’t go on Twitter to look at an excessive amount of tweets from one person about how unhappy they are. If you are that miserable, go and do something about it, rather than mope about on your computer and bore everyone with your miserable life.
  3. Don’t retweet everything: Ok, if something is interesting enough then retweet it, but don’t retweet every single thing that you like! If I wanted to follow someone, I would. I don’t want their posts clogging up my homepage just because you think it’s great that they built a new cat-flap or something.
  4. ‘I’m going to give you some pointless information you don’t care about’: Don’t just tweet for the sake of it! You wouldn’t tell someone in real-life what colour your toenails are, so why would anyone care on Twitter?
  5. Those tweets that are obviously aimed at someone, but are purposely vague so you can’t tell who: They deliberately draw attention to yourself, whether you want it or not, because people will be wondering who your tweet is about. Personally, if someone had a problem with me I’d rather they told me themselves, rather than writing a sly, nameless tweet about me.

Just to balance it out, here are a few things I do enjoy seeing:

  1. Jokes: Especially good/rude ones. A bit of entertainment is always good.
  2. News: I like the news! Twitter is great because you can often find out important things going on in the world before they have gotten on telly. It’s also summed up nicely so you don’t get all of the boring bits.
  3. Pictures: It’s pretty cool to see pictures of amusing or interesting things going on all around the world. However, I don’t care about your new spice-rack.
  4. Dogs: Who doesn’t love dogs?! Dog pictures are great.

Follow me @KCsaid

3 comments on “5 things you need to stop tweeting about:

  1. darkmoon says:

    Next time, just unfollow people who annoy you… as simple as that..

  2. John says:

    Good post. I hate the tweets from people who constantly go on about how busy they are, or the my life/partner/job/house/car etc is so great tweets. They make me puke!

  3. I read this article and got so worked up that I tiger kicked a chimp!

Leave a Reply

