Time for a lifestyle change.

After getting on the scales to complete my registration at the doctors this morning, I realised that I need to make a serious lifestyle change. Not only do I now weigh the most I ever have, but I weigh more than my mother, who is 43 and 5ft 8. (No offence Mum)

It’s time to banish the boredom eating, late-night binges and drunken takeaways, and actually get a grip. Starting today, I’m going to make a lifestyle change and lose 2 stone.

Slimming World is one of the best diets I have done. You don’t get results as quickly as you do when going on one of those fad diets, like ‘get a bikini body in 2 weeks’ or ‘drop a dress size by friday’, but it works. Not only do you lose the weight, but you keep it off, and your appetite and eating habits do change. Slimming World is about food optimising, not cutting out significant chunks of your diet. None of this ‘no-carb’ crap, where you end up getting headaches and feeling awful, and then proceed to put double the weight back on after you finish the diet. You can also afford to have a sneaky chocolate bar every now and again…

Another thing I have found when dieting, is that reading magazines does not help. Every month there seems to be a new diet that can see you go from an average size 14 to Kim Kardashian in a week. Let’s face it – it’s not going to happen. It’s just another title on the front cover to get you to buy their magazine. Take this example, the Juice Master 7lbs in 7 Days diet. If you do this diet, you might lose 7lbs in 7 days, but you are going to have a week of feeling shit. When you do start eating in the week after, your body is going to cling on to every single carbohydrate and gram of fat that you have been depriving it of for the past week. The results may come quickly, but they are never going to last in the long-term. It will just end up being a miserable week and a total waste of time.

I am well aware that several of you out there are thinking, ‘Why don’t you just get off of your fat ass and do some exercise?’.  I couldn’t agree more. A combination of diet and exercise not only helps you to shed weight quicker than any diet can do alone, but it also make you feel better inside, and ultimately more energized. The thought of rolling out of your warm bed to put on some trainers and head out in gale-force winds is far from appealing, I am well aware of that, but once you get the ball rolling it is really easy to keep it up. I was running 5 days a week, until shinsplints ruined my life and exercise plans for the short-term future.

If you want to lose weight, my advice is to ignore anything magazines tell you, and just get a grip. A combination of healthy eating and exercise is by far the best thing you can do for your body, it just takes patience and perseverance.

5 comments on “Time for a lifestyle change.

  1. SAMANTHA says:

    Great post! I agree, just gotta eat right and exercise…too many people want the quick fix..when the lifestyle change is the best approach! good luck to you!

  2. mum says:

    Good girl! sounds great, just got to stick to it xxx

  3. […] there you have it, my condensed version of the 10 most common weight loss mistakes. As I have said before, the most important thing to stick to is a healthy, balanced diet and regular exercise. It’s […]

  4. […] – The diet went a bit downhill. Note the word: went. I started to feel a bit ill and naff so I started binging […]

Leave a Reply

